Berlin Workshop 2012


Interactions in Transnational Business Governance:
Assessing Impacts on Regulatory Capacity and Performance

Berlin Workshop 2012 | Hertie School of Governance | May 16, 2012

This international workshop brought together 28 scholars from 6 countries to explore the impacts of Transnational Business Governance interactions on regulatory capacity and the performance of larger regulatory systems.

This workshop took the form of a “memo” conference in which each participant prepared a short memorandum directed at a common set of questions. The workshop focused on regulatory capacity and performance, specifically (a) the relationship between interaction dynamics and regulatory capacity and performance, and (b) issues of capacity and performance along the governance chain of specific regulatory processes that are already shaped by interaction dynamics.

See the workshop program here.

  • Stepan Wood, York University, Osgoode Hall Law School
  • Kenneth Abbott, Arizona State University, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law & School of Politics and Global Studies
  • Julia Black, London School of Economics, Department of Law
  • Burkard Eberlein, York University, Schulich School of Business
  • Errol Meidinger, State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law


  • Karen Alter, American Academy Berlin/Northwestern University
  • Tanja Börzel, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Olaf Dilling, University of Bremen
  • Klaus Dingwerth, University of Bremen
  • Marie-Laure Djelic, ESSEC Business School
  • David Doorey, York University
  • Thomas Gehring, University of Bamberg
  • Anke Hassel, Hertie School of Governance
  • Nicole Helmerich, Hertie School of Governance
  • Markus Jachtenfuchs, Hertie School of Governance
  • Gregory Jackson, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Dieter Kerwer, University of Antwerp
  • David Levi-Faur, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Olga Malets, Technische Universität München
  • Sebastian Oberthür, Free University Brussels
  • Claus Offe, Technische Universität München
  • Thomas Risse, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Kerstin Sahlin-Anderson, Uppsala University
  • Jan Sindt, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
  • Christian Thauer, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Klaus-Dieter Wolf, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt
  • Michael Zürn, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
  • Annegret Flohr, Peace Research Institute, Frankfurt

This workshop was sponsored by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council and the Hertie School of Governance.